Central Aerohydrodynamic Institute
Printer friendly

TsAGI holds award ceremony honoring the winners of the Professor N.E. Zhukovsky Contest

20 January 2017

An award ceremony honoring the winners of the professor N.E. Zhukovsky Contest, which is among the most remarkable awards for research in the field of aviation theory, took place in January. By tradition, the event was organized by the Central AeroHydrodynamic Institute named after professor N.E. Zhukovsky (TsAGI, a part of the Scientific Research Center „Institute named after N.E. Zhukovsky”).

The first award for „Best paper on aviation theory (aerodynamics, hydromechanics, combustion theory and theory of aircraft and engine failure)” went to the composite authors including CIAM specialists V.A. Stepanov, V.A. Vinogradov, I.V. Kukshinova and D.A. Lyubimova for the paper: „Pattern selection and design and experimental research of a high-performance space air intake of a propulsion unit for a light supersonic business aircraft.” The work carried out by the CIAM specialists demonstrates a design and experimental method of creating a new-generation air intake integrated into an aircraft airframe, using modern Russian computational techniques. Layout of the supersonic business aircraft had been created by TsAGI researchers earlier.

The second award for „Best paper on the aviation theory (aerodynamics, hydromechanics, combustion theory and theory of aircraft and engine failure)” went to S.A. Takovitsky, a TsAGI scientist, who presented the research paper: „Analytical solutions of aerodynamic shape optimization.” The author obtained new research findings that became a basis for applied improvement of high-speed aircraft aerodynamic cleanness.

A winner in the „Outstanding educational aids in aviation disciplines” category was a paper: „Residual Stress in Polymer Composites” by the scientists of the Institute of Continuous Media Mechanics of the Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences and of the Perm National Research Polytechnic University V.P. Matveenko, O.Yu. Smetannikov, N.А. Trufanov, I.N. Shardakov. The paper includes findings of the long-term research aimed at experimental study and creation of mathematical models of process and residual stress formation in polymer composites.

„This year the award ceremony was symbolically held on the 170th birthday of N.E. Zhukovsky, a ‚father’ of aerodynamics who gave his name to the contest,” stated S.L. Chernyshev, the Chairman of Contest judges, the Director General of TsAGI, and a member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. Speaking at the ceremony he further said, „this event allows us to discuss the current issues of aviation science development whereas the high level of research papers and strict election of winners contribute to adherence to the high standards set by the founders of the award.”

TsAGI Press Service
+7 (495) 556-40-38

Back to list