Central Aerohydrodynamic Institute
Printer friendly

Scientific Victories: N.E. Zhukovsky Prize Laureates Awarded

9 February 2015

In late January, TsAGI’s House of Scientists hosted the solemn ceremony of awarding the winners of the annual competition named after Professor N.E. Zhukovsky. The event attracted great public attention, in particular among young people.

Welcoming the guests, the chairman of the jury, CEO of FSUE TsAGI and Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences B.S. Aleshin said that this year the competition celebrated its 95th anniversary and called it a type of “scientific relic.” The head of the Institute also said that every year the number of works sent in for the award has grown, which certainly is a positive trend. “The human desire to reach new frontiers of knowledge is unstoppable, and this is the main driver of progress in the society,” said Boris Aleshin. The General Director of FSUE TsAGI noted the importance of participation of young scientists in the development of science and urged them to be more active in this field.

On behalf of the local authorities, the participants of the ceremony were addressed by the head of the Zhukovsky municipal district A.P. Voytyuk. Congratulating the audience for the remarkable event, the award presentation, he said: “Our scientists are able to solve the problems that cannot be tackled by many of the leading world’s scientists. I am sure that our aircraft industry will move forward and develop well.”

The results of the competition were summarized by Scientific Secretary of the Jury, Deputy Director General of FSUE TsAGI, I.E. Kovalev, Professor, DSc, Engineering. He said that after a long discussion the jury chose the best two works by secret ballot. Both were from scientists of the Central AeroHydrodynamic Institute named after Professor N.E. Zhukovsky.

The First Degree Award was given to the scientific work, “Long-haul aircraft remote control systems” and is dedicated to an important issue for the aviation industry — finding technical solutions to improve flight safety. By decision of the jury, the gold table medal was awarded to one of the authors — Yu.F. Shelyukhin (PhD, Engineering, chief researcher at the Department of Dynamics and Aircraft Control Systems), who made a report at the ceremony. Co-authors of the work were General Director of FSUE TsAGI B.S. Aleshin (DSc, Engineering) and the staff of the Department of Dynamics and Aircraft Control Systems — acting head of department S.G. Bazhenov (PhD, Engineering), head of sector Yu.I. Didenko (PhD, Engineering). Yu.F. Shelyukhin noted: “The research is devoted to the subject we have been studying for many years. Development of a digital ‘brain’ for aircraft is an extremely interesting field. It is important to note that in the course of our scientific research, we worked with key Russian aircraft designers.”

Winner of the Second Degree Award and a silver table medal was the chief researcher at the Propulsion Aerodynamics Department S.P. Ostroukhov (DSc, Engineering), author of the book “Aerodynamics of propellers and annular screw thrusters.” In his work, the scientist sets out the results of many years of research, which formed the basis for the creation of screw propellers for virtually all aircraft of Russia and the CIS over the past decade. Speaking about his scientific work, Stanislav Ostroukhov noted that one of the first developers of propellers was N.E. Zhukovsky, and thus, these efforts continue the work of the TsAGI’s founder. “These are materials which I have gathered during nearly all the years of my work. They are collected in a single monograph to enable today’s, and future, propeller developers to leverage them to optimize propellers,” said the winner.

Member of the jury, RAS Academician H.V. Novozhilov, summing up the competition, said: “It is exceptionally difficult to receive the Zhukovsky award. It always involves an extremely high level of research.”

The competition named after Professor N.E. Zhukovsky was established on December 2, 1920 by Decision of the Council of People’s Commissars, “To commemorate the 50th anniversary of the scientific work of Professor N.E. Zhukovsky.” The jury is approved by a joint decision of the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation and the Russian Academy of Sciences. It consists of 17 members of the Russian Academy of Sciences and 5 professors.

TsAGI Press Service
+7 (495) 556-40-38

Back to list